Four new members appointed to Heritage Corridor Destinations Board of Directors

We welcomed four new members to our leadership team at the March Board of Directors meeting in Morris.

Current Board Chair, Lemont Economic & Community Development Director Jason Berry, commented, It's an exciting time to be part of Heritage Corridor Destinations, and we’re thrilled to welcome new board members. Being on this board is a partnership, an opportunity to work together to promote the economic impact of travel and tourism in our region.

The new members are Mica Freeman (Will County Board), Hugh O'Hara (Will County Governmental League), James Riley (Grundy County Board), and Cesar Suarez (City of Joliet). They will complete unexpired terms from previous board members.

Mica Freeman is a former teacher and current Will County Board Member representing District 8 since 2020. Ms. Freeman is a resident of Plainfield.

Hugh O'Hara is currently the President of Sligo Government Solutions and the Executive Director of the Will County Governmental League. Mr. O'Hara is a resident of Joliet.

James Riley is currently the Operations Manager of several Love's Truck Stops and is a Grundy County Board member representing District 3 since 2014. Mr. Riley is a resident of Gardner.

Cesar Suarez was hired in June of 2022 as the Economic Development Director for the City of Joliet. Prior to that, Cesar spent seven years with the City of Peoria in a similar capacity. Mr. Suarez is a resident of Joliet.

The Heritage Corridor Destinations Board is comprised of sixteen members who live and/or work throughout the organization's six county area. The board is responsible for the leadership and direction of Heritage Corridor Destinations functions and activities. Each member serves a two-year term.

Heritage Corridor Destinations inspires visitors to explore, shop, dine and stay in the I&M Canal National Heritage Area, Starved Rock Country, and along The First Hundred Miles of Route 66. Heritage Corridor Destinations is the certified tourism bureau for the Will, Grundy, LaSalle, Livingston, Putnam and Bureau Counties.